Friday, October 22, 2010



(Washington, DC) - National Stonewall Democrats PAC announced its latest set of endorsements of pro-equality Democrats including Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (NV), Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (NY), Rep. Jared Polis (CO) and Rep. Tammy Baldwin (WI). Twelve candidates were announced as part of NSD PAC’s ElectEquality program in May (one candidate was ousted in a primary, making the number of ElectEquality candidates eleven). Rep. Barney Frank’s endorsement was announced last week.

“We are thrilled to announce our full slate of endorsed candidates for the midterm elections,” said Michael Mitchell, Executive Director of the National Stonewall Democrats. “Whether incumbent or challenger, the candidates on this list are all strong, pro-equality Democrats and hail from rural, suburban and urban districts from coast to coast.”

“We are very aware that the only way we are going to achieve full equality through legislation is with a pro-equality majority in Congress with allies, friends and compatriots like those listed here.

“It’s no secret that many of our candidates are in tight races and we encourage our members, supporters and the LGBT and ally community at large to give your time and resources to the people on this list, as well as other pro-equality candidates down the ticket where you live.”

Key: Challenger in italics, EE = ElectEquality Candidate

US House of Representatives

Tammy Baldwin (WI – 2) Chellie Pingree (ME – 1)
Shelley Berkley (NV-1) Jared Polis (CO-2)
Tim Bishop (NY-1) , EE Carol Shea Porter (NH-1) , EE
Barbara Boxer (CA-S) Ed Potosnak (NJ-7) , EE
Lois Capps (CA-23) Steve Pougnet (CA-45) , EE
David Cicilline (RI-1) , EE Mike Quigley (IL-5)
Steve Cohen (TN – 9) Cedric Richmond (LA- 2)
Joseph Crowley (NY-7) Steven Rothman (NJ-9)
Keith Ellison (MN – 5) Loretta Sanchez (CA-47)
Barney Frank (MA – 4) John Sarbanes (MD-3)
Rush Holt (NJ-12) , EE Brad Sherman (CA-27)
Mary Jo Kilroy (OH-15) Pete Stark (CA-13)
Ann McLane Kuster (NH-2) Betty Sutton (OH – 13)
Carolyn Maloney (NY-14) Dina Titus (NV-3) , EE
Carolyn McCarthy (NY-4) Paul Tonko (NY-21)
Patrick Murphy (PA-8) , EE Manan Trivedi (PA-6)
Jerry Nadler (NY- 8) Niki Tsongas (MA-5)
Glenn Nye (VA-2) Tim Walz (MN – 1)
Frank Pallone (NJ-6) Henry Waxman (CA-30)
Ed Pastor (AZ-4)

US Senate

Roxanne Conlin (IA – Sen) Paul Hodes (NH – Sen) , EE
Chris Coons (DE – Sen) Kendrick Meek (FL – Sen) , EE
Lee Fisher (OH – Sen) Harry Reid (NV – Sen)
Alexi Giannoulias (IL – Sen), EE Joe Sestak (PA-Sen)
Kirsten Gillibrand (NY – Sen)

No comments: